National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum Unveils 2024 Western Heritage Awards Honorees

National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum Unveils 2024 Western Heritage Awards Honorees

April 11, 2024

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK - The stage is set, the dust is settling, and the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum is gearing up for a star-studded celebration of all things Western. With the 63rd Western Heritage Awards dinner just around the corner on April 13, 2024, excitement is reaching a fever pitch as the Museum unveils the distinguished individuals who will be honored for their exceptional contributions to Western literature, music, television, and film. Presented by Wrangler


In the realm of literature, the Wrangler awards will recognize outstanding achievements across various genres:


In the realm of music, the Wrangler awards celebrate melodies that capture the essence of the West:


In the realm of film and television, the Wrangler awards honor exceptional storytelling and cinematic prowess:

  • Western Lifestyle Program: "Today's Wild West: Episode 603" produced by Mark Bedor, a captivating exploration of contemporary Western living.
  • Theatrical Motion Picture: "Ride," a riveting film starring C. Thomas Howell and Forrie J. Smith, directed and written by Jake Allyn.
  • Documentary: "Lakota Nation vs. United States," a powerful documentary directed by Jesse Short Bull and Laura Tomaselli, shedding light on a crucial chapter in history.
  • Fictional Drama: "Hózhó náhásdlįį (Beauty is Restored)," an episode of Dark Winds S2, E6 directed by Chris Eyre, a mesmerizing narrative woven by a stellar cast and crew.
  • Television Feature Film: "The Warrant: Breaker’s Law," a gripping production directed by Brent Christy, showcasing the indomitable spirit of the West.


Additionally, the Western Heritage Awards will honor esteemed individuals with induction into the Hall of Great Westerners and the Hall of Great Western Performers:

  • Hall of Great Westerners: Jack LeForce, Buster Welch (1928-2022)
  • Hall of Great Western Performers: Keith Carradine, Noah Beery Jr. (1913-1994), John Smith (1931-1995)


Furthermore, special accolades will be bestowed upon exceptional individuals:

  • Chester A. Reynolds Award: Don Reeves, in recognition of his profound impact on preserving Western heritage.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Reba McEntire, honoring her enduring contributions to Western culture.
  • New Horizon Award: Mo Brings Plenty, celebrating emerging talent and promising futures in the Western genre.

As anticipation mounts and the countdown to the Western Heritage Awards dinner begins, the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum invites enthusiasts from near and far to join in this celebration of the enduring spirit of the American West. Don your finest attire, dust off your boots, and prepare for an unforgettable evening honoring the legends and luminaries who continue to enrich our cultural landscape. For more information and to reserve your tickets, visit

Get ready to saddle up for a night to remember! And of course so many Boot Babes will be there! Make sure you check out The Boot Babes to see all the Western Fashion!! @thebootbabes

For more information and updates on the Western Heritage Awards, visit

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.